Networking in the startup community

Being an entrepreneur has given me countless opportunities to network.  I have been a member the Chamber of Commerce, industry-affiliated associations and numerous civic organizations.  I enjoy attending events and meeting people but I’ve found that within the industries that I have worked, people tend to keep things close to the vest.  There’s a “what’s in it for me” mentality to sharing information, contacts or advice. 

I honestly hadn’t given it much thought before, but as we’ve started networking within the startup community there has been such as stark difference that it has made me take note.  

I posted our first blog three days ago.  In that time I’ve received advice on writing style, content focus, CTO referrals, technical advice and general hints on how to gain traction and interest in our startup.  All unsolicited with no expectations other than wishing us well or rooting for us.  

Some of the constructive criticism stung a little, but it was honest, helpful, and much needed.  Everyone who responded to us aided in our growth.  In three days, I have found a mentor, a strong CTO candidate, invaluable advice and referrals to vendors.  I created a landing page at www.SnapProp.com   (more great advice).  

I’m not naïve enough to realize that this community can’t be cut-throat, probably more so than other industries, but the pay-it-forward mentality helps to give it some balance.  

So take a moment and go to www.SnapProp.com and see what you all helped build in just a few short days.  Sign up for updates on our launch.  Thanks!